Proprioception – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Proprioception – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia.

You know the five scenes: sight, sound, feel, taste, scent.  But there is so much more than that.

Proprioception is something like inner-vision.  I don’t know if we are born with it.  It’s basically how you perceive yourself in space.  It’s what allows you to walk in the dark, touch your finger to your nose with your eyes closed, and not bump into things.  If you think you are clumsy, like I am, it could be that your proprioception is out of whack.  This is especially common during growth spurts or significant weight loss or weight gain.  It also is what allows amuptees feel “phantom limbs,” which I have no experience with.

I wonder if my sense of proprioception is linked to how I dream. Does anyone else dream of moving(like, beginning to get ready for the day) while in that half-sleep state after the alarm has gone off but before you drag yourself out of bed?  When I do awaken fully, I am disappointed to find that I have to “do it all over again” because I really feel like I brushed my teeth, got dressed, put on makeup, ect.  Maybe I imagine my proprioception so well, my muscles react minutely and I have, in fact, gone through the motions of getting ready without actually doing anything.

Or is that just me?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

